Why I no longer drink

Hi guys,

So today I wanted to write a post about the fairly recent tee-total me because it’s been strange to see people’s reactions to this. After all I’m a 23 year old who isn’t super religious and doesn’t have any objections to alcohol. If you’d have told the 17 year old me that I would be pretty much tee-total by the age of 23 I would have laughed in your face, or thrown an alcoholic beverage in your face! Lolz, totally happened before! So why the no drinking?

Well, it’s because of health reasons. Before you stop reading and think ahhh boring another health nutter, I don’t mean I’m not drinking because I want to loose weight or because I’m obsessed with my liver. My health reasons are due to the fact that I have interstitial cystitis which basically makes your bladder and kidneys feel like you’ve poured acid on them after having even half a glass of something alcoholic!

This all started at the tender age of 18 but symptoms didn’t really manifest until I was around 22. So now that’s that really. So yea bye bye yummy gin and tonic on a hot summer’s day! So long prossecco on a birthday evening!

And do you know what. It’s ok. Seriously. Yes at first I pined. I pined because I loved the taste. I pined because I loved being sociable with my friends meeting up for cocktails on a Friday night. But most of all the reason I pined and had a strop about how unfair life was was because of people’s reactions to my non-drinking. I don’t really mean specific people. I mean more British society in general.

We use alcohol in every situation. To celebrate when good things happen, to commiserate when bad things happen. We use it as a social lubricant and as an excuse when we fuck up. And do you know what, when you don’t drink you come to realise this. Yes I knew it before but I wasn’t quite aware of how much alcohol played a part in my life. I’m not saying this is a bad thing. Believe me I understand that alcohol is not solely bad. I’ve had some hell of good times with that bad boy! But maybe we need to think about how we use it and our reactions to it.

When I tell people I don’t know that I don’t drink there is always the same response: ‘oh how come?’ People need a reason. I feel I need a reason to justify it and yes I definitely have a reason. If you know the pain then you will understand, but sometimes I feel that I shouldn’t have to have a reason. I should just be able to say ‘I just don’t like it’ and that should be enough but for most people it’s not. It’s so ingrained in our culture that it’s weird or boring if we don’t drink and believe me I’m not boring!! Although I couldn’t comment on my weirdness, I am obsessed with Miss Marple after all!

I can party til 4am and have a laugh all on no alcohol, and do you know what I have a freakin’great time! Some of my best nights have been this. Some of my worst night’s have been like this. I’ve also had great nights when drinking. I’ve also had bad nights when I’ve been drinking.

So that’s it. I’m 23 years old and I don’t drink.

I’m 23 years old and I’ll go out partying til 4am.

I’m 23 years old and I’m just me.

 

Published by

emmawhite1992

FACTS FOR THOUGHT: - I'm really scared of how flies look close up - My favourite animal is a raccoon - I never say no to cake - I always dribble when I nap - I have an obsession with Harry Potter - One day i want to live in Italy where I will probably become obese

Leave a Reply

